1x1 Widget for a minimal design & usabilty

App version: 2.4.1 from Google Playstore

Problem you may be having, or feature you want: AntennaPod Widget is great, but I would like to have a 1x1 Widget, since this is enough for everything i need to know for the podcast and i dont have more space on my homescreen for the podcast app :slight_smile:

Suggested solution: Create a 1x1 Widget similar to the one from Podcast Addict: show art from the current podcast and a play/pause button. See the screenshot below for details.
I would love to contribue this, but I am a bad designer, have never written anything for android and my wife just had our baby ā€¦ which all together will not make it happen anytime soon (or probably ever :smiley: ). I hope someone else likes the idea and is a better designer/android coder then I am (+ spare time).

Screenshots / Drawings / Technical details:
This is a screenshot from Podcast Addict and I would love to have a widget similar to this one:

Did i maybe write this request wrong or does no one like the idea?

The problem simply is that people request a huge number of features and only few people help with implementing them.

No argument here. I just thought since the other request (from today) got a response within minutes, I just asks if i did something wrong here.

Does anyone like the idea / hates it or has some other input on this?

Since there are not many other answers, I can add this low value comment. Iā€™m fully indifferent to the idea, since I barely even know what a widget is and have no personal interest in them.

With that said, it seems like a good uncontroversial idea. Iā€™d invite anyone interested in implementing such a widget to post to the thread and give it a go!

3 Likes

Personally I find no use for media player widgets. The inbuilt media player control whether on swipe down or on the lock screen give me the functionality I need.

1 Like

I donā€™t see a benefit neither. The notification area does the trick for me.