Storage Location cannot be selected in Graphene OS

App version: 2.2.1F-Droid
Android version: 11.x (Graphene OS)
Device model:
Google Pixel 4a

Hello,
I am trying out Antennapod.
I would like to change the storage location to the standard podcast folder the OS has created.
But the option to choose a storage location for downloaded podcasts is unresponsive (as in Settings → Storage-> Choose Data folder).
What am I doing wrong?
Help would be appreciated!

Same thing here!
It would be nice to have a solution, because the automatic download is then impossible.
Access to Data folder is forbiden, probably by GrapheneOS.

I’m not a developer, but I’m just thinking: this may be a permission issue in Android 11 - which is much more strict when it comes to access by apps to the file system. In Organic Maps (open source navigation app) the developer gave some explanation about the limited options they had (for the sharing of pins/bookmarks).

Google is forcing all developers to move to so called “scoped storage”.

They mentioned the following solutions they had tried:

1. Old WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE permission to write /sdcard - ignored completely, access denied.
  2. getExternalFilesDir() - returns /sdcard/Android/data/app.organicmaps (sdcard), it works, but this directory is inaccessible from other apps including file managers.
  3. getFilesDir() - returns /data/user/0/app.organicmaps/ (internal storage) - current.
  4. StorageAccessFramework to write /sdcard/Documents/OrganicMaps - this is a compeletely weird. You can write to a folder, but the application can read only its files. In other words, if you copy a bookmark file by using a file manager, it will exist in the folder, but the app will not see it.
  5. New MANAGE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE to write to arbitrary directory - requires a special approval from Google, designed for filemanagers. I’m not sure that privacy-focused map actually needs permission to read all files.