Update played status from other app

App version: 2.1.3 google play

I’m looking to write a tool to copy podcasts from AntennaPod’s storage over to the Samsung watch, play them there, and then return the “played-until” and/or “mark as played” status to the AP storage.

Has anyone already done this, and is the data store for the status of each podcast stable enough for me to get into? I’m happy writing a “plugin” for AP to do that, or just to read/write directly to the data.

Thanks!
kevin

Does Samsung not use Android? I believe AntennaPod already supports Android watches (not to download, but as a player interface, so to say). Also relevant for you: Wear OS app · Issue #4264 · AntennaPod/AntennaPod · GitHub

Thanks for the quick answer! My situation is identical to issue #4264.

I’m an experienced developer and would be happy to write a “stub” to allow a standalone watch app to at least interact with AntennaPod.

The use case would be as follows: You use AntennaPod as your “main” app, on your android phone. You can then open as “AntennaPodToWatch” app which can grab some subset of the episodes on the AntennaPod storage on the phone and push those episodes to the watch’s storage. Then you leave your phone and go do stuff, listening via the watch.

When you run AntennaPodToWatch later, any podcasts you’ve played on the watch have the ability to update the “played” status on AntennaPod.

I’m proposing AntennaPodToWatch (hopefully a different name) as a separate app; Samsung gives away pretty helpful tools for this. However, I’d be happy to write to write some kind of API to manage any changes to AntennaPod that would be required. (Or if someone else has already written something to do this, so much the better.)

Thanks!
kevin

1 Like