UX Research for automatic download & deletion

Hi everyone :wave:

I’m a UX designer from Bristol, UK. I saw your post on Open Source Design requesting volunteers for user research for your app. If you are still searching, I would love to get involved.

George

1 Like

Hi George,

Welcome to the AntennaPod community and thank you for offering your help! I had mentioned that we would welcome some help during FOSDEM, but didn’t realise that the great core team had already made a job post out of this!

As you will have read in the job post, the issue concerns how users interact (or rather: how they don’t) with the automatic downloads functionality and how we can best cater their needs. It’s a rather tough subject and we have multiple issues in GitHub, many things & settings to consider, and, as the great people from the OSD core team suggested, some assumptions to check. We’d want this to be an open & documented process, so everyone has a chance to follow and that we can point back to earlier steps later on in the process. But how best we can tackle this UX exercise, I think we’d like to determine together with you, drawing on your expertise (and discussing what would be feasible in our spare time).

Before we can do that, it’d probably be handy if I try and summarise the problem(s) at hand in a somewhat concise manner (I won’t ask you to read through 23 GH issues and hundreds of comments ^^ ). I’ll try and get back on this the coming days.

Hope that sounds good. Thanks again for offering your help!

Best
Keunes (currently based in Brussels, Belgium)

Hi Keunes,

Thanks for the reply!

First of all I’d like to say how cool the app is. I had a go with it last night - I think it’s one of the more polished open source apps I’ve seen recently, I can tell you’ve all put a lot of passion into it!