Download single episode without subscribing

Hi - is there a way to download a single episode of a podcast without subscribing? Thanks

5 Likes

Hello @Smollen
Thanks for chipping in on our community forum. That’s currently not possible, but there is a feature request for this:Add/play single episode without subscribing to podcast · Issue #4710 · AntennaPod/AntennaPod · GitHub

2 Likes

Hey as the github issue is closed for discussion, maybe we could brainstorm here about UI/UX and technical details. I like to propose a minimal working solution that I feel could be easy enough to realize within a few weeks, even though I admit that I have little experience with AP feed updating etc.

First the flow would be like this: what used to be opening the preview now directly leads to the subscribe action but sets a flag to the feed: not-updated (already have that) and also a hidden flag (don’t have that yet right?) Which will hide the episodes from all lists etc.
Then we need a subscribe button in the feedlist where now there are the settings and filter buttons.
And finally there needs to be a routine in the feed updating/fetching method that checks whether an episode of a preview feed is still in queue or downloaded, if not the feed is removed from the database.

Is this description good enough? Then we can go to the technical details, a roadmap might look like this:

• adapt the open preview mechanism (possible difficulties: the preview screen is a somewhat self contained screen now that can also be opened by other apps!)
  • set not updating flag and implement hidden/preview flag
  • check all lists to respect the new flag
  • new routine for feed update to check for unused preview subscriptions (not in queue, not downloaded, what else?)
  • adding a subscribe button to the feedlist which removes the hidden/preview flag as well as setting the not updating flag to the user preference default